AFM Alternative for MRS-1044

All flavors of Zoom MRS gear discussed here, including MRS-8, 1044, 1266, 1608, etc.
codekiddie

AFM Alternative for MRS-1044

Post by codekiddie » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:23 am

Fairly new to the forums so please bear with me if someone has already covered this, but I couldn't find anything after looking.

Having used the Zoom AFM for a couple of weeks now, after getting a second hand MRS-1044 for my birthday, I was frustrated with it for several reasons.

• Difficulty in seeing which V-Take was selected
• Ability to only export one track at a time
• Forgetting to pan a two track Stereo track and ending up with a mono track

I also couldn't see why it was possible to mix tracks with it, surely the job of the DAW?

Since I am a programmer anyway, I thought I would have a go at a better solution, and here is the result, the .DAT -> .WAV file converter for Windows.

You can download it from my web pages at:

[url]http:\\www.philchris.co.uk\MRS-1044\MRS_Convert.zip[/url]

I don't know enough about the other recorders mentioned on these forums, and whether or not they use the same .DAT files, but if so then I would hope that Zoom kept the same format and my program may be used for them as well.

I have written a user guide as well, which is part of the .ZIP file.

Please let me know if this is of any use to anyone, or as I said above, tell me if I have covered old ground.
0 x

catrufusblue
new to this board
new to this board

Re: AFM Alternative for MRS-1044

Post by catrufusblue » Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:49 am

Thanks, codekiddie. I'll try it out. see if it also wotks with the 1208.
0 x

codekiddie

Post by codekiddie » Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:20 am

Thanks catrufusblue.

Please do let me know about the 1208.
0 x

Sungodv
The Force
The Force

Post by Sungodv » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:55 am

You didn't need the URL tags. Any URL put into a reply will auto-magically turn into a clickable link.