MRS-1608 Startup Procedure, Can You HELP!

All flavors of Zoom MRS gear discussed here, including MRS-8, 1044, 1266, 1608, etc.
Novice
new to this board
new to this board

MRS-1608 Startup Procedure, Can You HELP!

Post by Novice » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:57 am

Hi Everyone
Firstly thank you for allowing me to post on your Forum, as a complete novice and not a musician I feel somewhat daunted and very much out of my depth, but here goes!
I inherited a Zoom MRS-1608 machine in immaculate condition, still in original box and packaging from my son who has now moved abroad and I now wish to sell this on so it can be used as it was intended. However before I can do this I wish to satisfy myself that it is working correctly, and therein lies the problem ("a little knowledge is a dangerous thing"). From everything I have read this machine is held in high regard and is indeed a quality product.
Consequently I have followed the comprehensive manual supplied with the machine and powered it up (stand alone and not connected to anything other than a set of headphones) and the following is the sequence of messages I receive on the digital display:-
1) Check Drives
2) Check CD Rom
3) Zoom MRS 1608
4) HDD Scan
5) Ver 1.02
Screen then reads
PRJ 000
PRJ000
Using the headphones I can hear a drum beat and the sequence displayed in the readout, however the manual says there are some Factory loaded projects which can be accessed by turning the dial, but when I turn it nothing happens. Also the manual says that PRJ 000 should display "DontLkBk" not the PRJ000 I am seeing at the moment!
Therefore I am now at a loss to know if I have a problem with the machine or if it is simply my lack of understanding. Visually to me everything looks to be working, but obviously I am not sure.
Finally I should have said that my son fitted the CD drive to the machine after he bought it, and to the best of his knowledge everything was working when he left, although he had done very little work on it.