TONEPORT DI-S -

Discuss Line 6 gear and software, including Toneport, Pod, Gearbox.
strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:00 pm

I use toneport ux2 as my Di into Acid.
I us toneport DI-Silver as VST plug in acid (can change sounds
after recorded.
Monkey told me to upgrade to Lastest Great Driver:
I think 3.72 -
Monkey says it is activated but they DI does not work.
I made sure it was set to 24bit - but still does not work
Any suggestions?

Thanks
Mike
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:33 am

This place is kinda dead, no? Hi I'm Sungodv, one of the remaining zombies. :twisted:
:lol:
Anyway, I don't think many people here use the Line 6 DI, mostly UX2 users here. Can you get Acid to show a signal at all through your interface? Maybe roll back the driver if you know how.
You can always join and post on the Line 6 forums (or just search them) and see if you can get any help there one would imagine. Google your problem too.
Good luck!
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:12 am

thanks for reply.
I restored from a backup point that I set before installing.
Toneport or DI silver - would not load at all.
I guess I am stuck switching over to the newer Pod software.
I really liked the older Gearbox interface that they no longer support.

Mike
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:44 am

Restore points usually don't do much of anything in my experience.
Did it take you back to the old driver version?
If all else fails, you could try to remove the software completely and then reload it from the original CD.
I ignore the Monkey all the time. :yes:
I've also got GearBox versions going back to 2007 so I can be a resource there if you need it.
And reloading Windows is always a viable option to make everything right. Remember to back up the Data you need.
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:58 am

thanks.
I am going to stop avoiding the Inevitable and go with podfarm.
My computer is dedicated to music only so I don't have it on line.
A couple times a year I will plug in to internet to do updates.
I was 5 drivers behind on gearbox. Stupid me decided to update
not realizing gearbox was no longer supported. New moto if it
aint broke don't upgrade or update.
Mike
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:26 pm

Don't take this as singling you out, but do people not see question marks?
Do I need to put these: :?: in my posts?....er, :?:

Just because a machine isn't on the 'net doesn't mean the OS is never gonna flake. Anyway, have fun!
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:38 pm

Acid to show a signal at all through your interface?
Yes - Ux2 records perfectly into Acid.
Di SIlver - shows the plug in - no action.

When I rolled back - none of my line 6 products would
even launch. No Toneport, No DI silver.

I have not had my first cup of coffee yet.

Question - Are you running acid?
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:33 pm

No, I don't use Acid Pro, but I and many others here kind of used to.
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:39 pm

Last couple off months Acid Pro 6 drops the connection to
the Toneport UX2 (driver) - this is what started me looking at upgrading the Line 6 stuff.

I see you use Sonar. I am considering swithing to the new SX-1
once it matures a little.
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:53 pm

I don't use Sonar, just the VST & VSTi's that it comes with. It was cheaper to upgrade from Music Studio 6 XL to 8.5 Producer than to buy the full Dimension Pro VSTi software. :noway:
I use and recommend Samplitude. It is (Sequoia) the go to software for Mastering engineers everywhere. All newer versions have become very expensive though. :cry:
You can demo many DAWs before buying.
A lot of REAPER users around here too. My opinion why is that it is very powerful and only presents a nag screen if you end up never buying it.
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:17 pm

Samplitude is impressive - I just watched the demo.
Currently after tracking in Acid I have to take all the vocals
tracks into Melodyne. Edit in Melodyne and bring them back into
Acid. After mixing I have to take into SoundForge to master.
Samplitude does it all in one application. That would save
a lot of time. :applause:
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:58 am

Yeah, Elastic Audio works very much like Melodyne and it's part of Samp DAWs. SONAR Producer has a similar plug in it as well. I hear REAPER does too.
There are many flavors of Magix software....from Samplitude Producer (used to be Music Studio) to Samplitude, to Samplitude Pro. And then the top of the line Sequoia.
Maybe take a look at reloading your machine if Acid and other things are acting up now that didn't act up before.
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:24 pm

Thanks for your help. First I will switch everything to the pod software from gearbox. Them reload acid.
0 x

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7430
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by Sungodv » Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:28 pm

Somebody is going to come along and tell us to get a room. :look:
There really isn't a reason why GearBox and PodFarm can't coexist on your PC. It does on mine. Although I do use the stand alone versions of these programs as most do here.
Really, I was talking about reloading Windows. You know, starting fresh. It's easy to do this with most PC's.
It may be the best thing to do.
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 6:41 pm

Reloading XP sounds scarry, I think that will be my last resort.
0 x

User avatar
minerman
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master
Posts: 1664
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:49 am
Location: home
Contact:

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by minerman » Sat Apr 23, 2011 7:46 pm

You should be able to have both Gearbox & POD Farm installed on your PC, worked here just fine (I only use the vst version now though....)....Re-loading your OS can be a massive task, but it depends on how many programs & apps you are gonna be installing....Listen to Sunny-G, he can help ya man :yes:
0 x
Gibson, Fender, Ibanez, Oscar Schmidt, Carlo Robelli
EVH LBX 15w, EVH 4x12, Marshall 1960A
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro 'phones
NI Komplete Audio 6, Alesis Q25, M-Audio BX8
Shure, Sennheiser, Audix, Samson, Behringer & Carvin mics
Dell Desktop: Intel Quad Core i7-4790, 16GB RAM, Windows 7


My Music

@ Soundclick
@ Reverbnation
@ Bandcamp

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Re: TONEPORT DI-S -

Post by strat581 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:54 pm

Thanks. Currrently loading podfarm 1 and then podfarm 2.
Hopefully then I will get back my line 6 vst capability back in acid pro 6.
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest