I went New Wave (KB37)

Discuss Line 6 gear and software, including Toneport, Pod, Gearbox.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

I went New Wave (KB37)

Post by Lee » Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:02 pm

I bought the bloody KB37 as I planned to do from the get go. :roll:
Can any other KB37 owners make any suggestions?
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

tonyoci
The Force
The Force
Posts: 8225
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:20 am
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

Post by tonyoci » Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:07 pm

Yeah, you should have held out for the KB38.

I don't think we have any KB37 owners here.
0 x

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:48 am

tonyoci wrote:I don't think we have any KB37 owners here.
Too bad. I can't figure this thing out. No instructions. Actually, I think it's the basic midi and sound font stuff that I totally forgot how to do.

I'm in the DAW and I can't get but two notes on the keyboard to make a drum sound. :lol: This is weird.

It's on sale this month for $224 (got mine at the Guitar Center chain), but if I don't start making some progress with it -- it's going back.

It's also larger than I expected. One thing that is cool is that the rear panel is red so it looks like a giant UX2 from the rear. The stop/go/record buttons didn't work on ACID last night but maybe I'm doing somethig wrong. So far, no good.

I'll keep you guys posted here...
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

tonyoci
The Force
The Force
Posts: 8225
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:20 am
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

Post by tonyoci » Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:10 am

You'd probably have to configure Acid to make the controls work ?

Drums are on a certain part of the keyboard maybe you need to shift up an Octave or something ?

Keep on reporting back.
0 x

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Fri Apr 06, 2007 7:58 pm

Okay, a few steps forward but it's still not smooth sailing by a long shot.

Enabling the KB37 controls in ACID6

Options - Preferences - External Control & Automation

"Add" a 'Generic Control'

Select "View Funtion Group" 'Transport'

Select the "Host Command" and check the "Learn" checkbox

Press the control on the KB37

Repeat for each control

Save

NOTE: Locked up twice using them and can't get FFW or REW to work.



Okay, as for the drums...
Push the big fat "Octave Select" button on the upper left of the unit once to the left. :roll: Fine. I'm a moron, okay?


ps
Tony, thanks for putting me in touch with Dan. I stumbled on these things but I may need to talk with him regarding other stuff.
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:21 pm

All of my original reasons for getting the UX2 over the KB37 still stand and I'll be returning the unit on Monday.

Why? When or if I play keys I prefer a full-size keyboard, but I probably won't be playing keys any time real soon so the size was actually too big given that I just want to thump out some beats on it. However, I really wanted to give it a whirl. I can't say that I'd really recommend it unless you really only want a single unit for recording and don't want/need a full-size keyboard.

Next? I need to decide if I'm keeping the BX5a monitors or swapping them for something that will also function as computer speakers. :roll:
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:18 pm

Lee wrote:All of my original reasons for getting the UX2 over the KB37 still stand and I'll be returning the unit on Monday.

Why? When or if I play keys I prefer a full-size keyboard, but I probably won't be playing keys any time real soon so the size was actually too big given that I just want to thump out some beats on it. However, I really wanted to give it a whirl. I can't say that I'd really recommend it unless you really only want a single unit for recording and don't want/need a full-size keyboard.
Let it not be said that I always think I'm right. Okay, I do at the moment of taking a particular stand, but then I know I often change my mind so.... whatever. :D

I've been slow to return the KB37 and I'm now quite glad. Why? I forgot to even try one of the main reasons I bought the darn thing – creating midi vocal melody tracks that could be used as inputs to auto-tune. Why the TonePort over an external setup? The whole idea that I could in one sitting lay down the drums, lay down the vocal melody (via the keys vs. the scratch guitar as I do today) , the guitars, the bass, and then plan to do the vox at a time when making noise won't wake anyone.

Could I do this with a full-sized external unit? Yes, but the one sitting bit is a real hit with me so.... Also, I have a renewed dislike for doing anything in the basement again (it's a long story). That's where a full-size unit would reside.

If I need a full size keyboard for something I'll just use my old casio. Okay, so I'm going to start a brand spanking new song and I plan to do it on the KB37 from start to finsih. This way I'll be able to make a more measured descision. In spite of it's size, if it truly makes things a little simpler and sound better(indirectly), it will stay. Again, I'm a fan of simplicity and convenience in the interest of doing things fast and/or with minimal effort and time.

Off I go back into the land of wishy-washy and hoping to come out with a hard answer (opinion). :? Sorry.
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Post by strat581 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:36 pm

Let us know what you think of the Mic Preamps the Kb37?
Are they quiet?
Do you get enough gain with your Sure mic?

Mike M
0 x

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:24 pm

strat581 wrote:Let us know what you think of the Mic Preamps the Kb37?
Are they quiet?
Do you get enough gain with your Sure mic?

Mike M
Mike, I may be jumping the gun on the answer, but I'm sure they're the same as the TonePort UX2. I've used the Shure 57 and the AT2020 (condenser) on the UX2 and it works great for both. More than enough gain.

If I find anything differenlty on the KB I'll let you know.
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

strat581
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:42 am
Location: Mission Viejo, California

Post by strat581 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:33 pm

I was supposed to be getting the KB37 and a PC with my tax return but
it turns out I owe money so music is on hold once again. Still very interested
on what you think of the Kb37. Looks like a good deal now the GC lowered
the price.
Mike M
0 x

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Sat May 05, 2007 10:13 pm

Okay, I took the KB37 back to the store today. :(

It was a fine unit but I never got to use it that one last time as I had planned in order to make a final decision. It was the very last day (hour, to be exact) that I could return it so I did. The last thing I want is another item to have to eBay... that I have yet to do btw, but I have a stack of boxed items I been meaning to post for some time.
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

User avatar
Sungodv
The Force
The Force
Posts: 7431
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by Sungodv » Mon May 07, 2007 8:50 am

Has it been awhile since you sold on eBay?......
A few changes (Turbo Lister, Counters, etc.) have changed since last year this time..........
I just sold off 18 items but, the MRS-8 wasn't in there........
I should have it and a guitar or two up soon.
Good luck on yer auctions..........
0 x
My Songs

Dell Quad Core Desktop - Windows 7 - 4GB RAM - Dual SATA Drives (1TB). Samplitude 11 & Pro X. Line 6 TonePort UX2. A.R.T. Tube MP Studio. Audio-Technica, MXL & Shure Mics. Zoom and DigiTech effects. Alesis DM5 Pro E-Drum Kit w/ Alesis Trigger i|o. 1959 Mojo Pick. Loads of Basses, Guitars & Keyboards.

User avatar
Lee
The Force
The Force
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Lee » Mon May 07, 2007 3:03 pm

Sungodv wrote:Has it been awhile since you sold on eBay?
I have never sold anything on it, period. We have a validated account but I just haven't gotten around to it. Maybe tonight...

The MRS8 won't be in the list and the PS04 may or may not.
0 x
"At one point, Lee made a surprisingly intelligent comment" - ferret
rock project (sc) | country stuff (sc)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest