Zoom H6 overdub question

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
robmillion
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 10:05 pm

Zoom H6 overdub question

Post by robmillion » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:01 pm

I'm thinking of getting a zoom H6,..,
So as i understand it, if you record on the XY mics you can't reassign that file to different tracks (like 1-2 for example) and record another track on the XY mic, right?
But how about this?: Can you connect the line out to 1-2 and play back the original xy file while recording it to 1-2, thereby duplicating the XY track so you can free up the xy mic to overdub what is now on 1-2?

I hope that makes sense. I'm a few beers in...
0 x

Fran Guidry
Jedi
Jedi
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:10 pm
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Zoom H6 overdub question

Post by Fran Guidry » Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:37 pm

Your idea works. Recognize that you'll experience generational loss, this method re-records the track so whatever imperfections exist in the recording chain will occur twice. But this was the standard way to overdub when us old fogeys were kids.

Fran
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests