Needing advice on what hardware to get for my needs. H5 or h6?

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Beacon
new to this board
new to this board

Needing advice on what hardware to get for my needs. H5 or h6?

Post by Beacon » Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:24 pm

Hi everyone. I'm new to the recording world and would love to get some input. I am interested in the h5 or h6 but I'm just wondering about some things.
I plan on doing 1 on 1 interviews with people and want to make sure the audio will be picked up properly. I will be about 15 to 20 away from the camera with a full body shot out in nature. I am wanting to pick up voice without having the recorder in the shot. I could place it on the ground just out of shot maybe 5 to 8 feet from me or my subject. I think a shotgun would probably have to be used but I don't know. Would it pic up audio good enough without a bunch of distortion? I don't mind some nature sounds being picked up at all but I don't want them to be louder than our voice. For some shots I guess a wireless lavalier mic could work but I will have some shots with me or my subject moving their arms a bunch (juggling) so I think that mic might get noisy. Is there any videos out there of someone talking while backing up from a shotgun mic to show how far back it pics up?

Also I plan on doing podcasts. What onboard mic would you suggest I use to pic up 2 people sitting across from each other with the recorder on the table? I'm wondering if I should get the h5 and get a shotgun mic or spend a bit extra to get the h6 with the side mic if that would work better for podcasts. If neither works then maybe the I would just get Lavalier mics for that. If that was the case does anyone recommend a good 2 mic wireless setup?

I'm hoping to get this soon, like cyber monday if I find a deal.

Thanks for any suggestions.
0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force