H5: Monitoring and sending out different signals, mainly for recording telephone conversations

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
blodmurmel52
new to this board
new to this board

H5: Monitoring and sending out different signals, mainly for recording telephone conversations

Post by blodmurmel52 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:57 am

Hi,

I work as a radio journalist, and every now and then I need to record phone calls in as good audio quality as possible. I figured my Zoom H5 is the best tool for this - I hook some kind of rig into my phone, like the Rode SC6, take the signal from the rig headphone jack into my H5's 1-input, record audio through the H5 XY-mic and take the Zoom signal into the phone, through the line out into the rig's mic jack. Then I usually adjust the monitor mix so that the phone audio doesn't loop back into the phone from the H5. This way I get both signals into separate channels and in pretty good audio quality.

There's just one problem with this setup – I can't monitor the sound via the H5, since I've cut down the phone audio from the monitor mix. My temporary solution to this problem has been splitting the signal from the rig's headphone jack but I'm wondering – is it possible to make the H5 output the entire signal through the Line out, and the monitor mixed signal through the headphone jack? This would be sensible, but for some reason I can't find a way to do it. Please help?
0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force

Re: H5: Monitoring and sending out different signals, mainly for recording telephone conversations

Post by Wulfraed » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:02 am

I would suspect not...

The "mix" is performed in the digital stage before any signal goes to the analog conversion for output.