Zoom H6 as Dslr Pre amp question.

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Pablosrt8
new to this board
new to this board

Zoom H6 as Dslr Pre amp question.

Post by Pablosrt8 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:38 pm

Hi, I am new to field recorders and recently learned the importance of audio on video.
I purchased a zoom H6 after reading so many positive reviews.
Is it a waste to use the H6 as the Pre amp for my Nikon D850?
What I did was set up the audio level on the camera to 1 or 2 and then crank up the volume on the H6 with the XY mic with line out to my camera.
It sounded good, but is it a waste of H6 and I should really only use the audio from the H6?

So to sum up what I did was H6 line out to mic in on my D850. Audio level on the D850 set to minimun and crancked up the volume on the XY mic input.

Thanks!
0 x

Jim_Fogle
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master

Re: Zoom H6 as Dslr Pre amp question.

Post by Jim_Fogle » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:07 pm

Never a waste when you achieve the results you want.
1 x
http://fogle622.wix.com/fogle622-audio-home
https://soundcloud.com/you/tracks
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... tent=music
Zoom MRS-8
Gibson acoustic 12-string, Peavey Predator, Line6 Variax, Yamaha keyboard and digital drums
2018 Band-in-a-Box, ChordPulse http://www.chordpulse.com/
Cakewalk by BandLab, Sonar Home Studio, Cakewalk Music Creator 6, Audacity
Win 7 laptop i3, 8 GB DRAM, 500GB HD

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force

Post by Wulfraed » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:21 pm

Pablosrt8 wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:38 pm
Is it a waste to use the H6 as the Pre amp for my Nikon D850?
What I did was set up the audio level on the camera to 1 or 2 and then crank up the volume on the H6 with the XY mic with line out to my camera.