Page 1 of 1

channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:34 am
by bostonpaper
In multi mode, I am recording from the AT8031 mike (for my voice) and from Skype (from computer sound card for the interviewee), connected to inputs 1 and 2. The AT only works when connected to input 1. Swapping back and forth proves that. Is there something that I am missing?

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 1:56 pm
by sciurius
Did you switch Hi-Z on for Channel 1?

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:05 pm
by bostonpaper
I don't know whether it is switched on or off....is that a Zoom H5 setting or on the AT mike? Pardon my ignorance...

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:58 pm
by Wulfraed
I suspect that was supposed to be phantom power, not high impedance (the latter is a setting for passive electric guitars).

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:18 am
by bostonpaper
Should phantom power be on in the H5 for either connection, wherever I plug in the AT mike? Or off? And the slide switch on the mike, the small one hidden deep near the head of the mike, up or down? I can't find any AT documentation for what that switch does.

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:00 am
by Wulfraed
bostonpaper wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 8:18 am
Should phantom power be on in the H5 for either connection, wherever I plug in the AT mike? Or off?


According to the spec sheet https://www.audio-technica.com/cms/reso ... _lores.pdf the microphone can be powered by either phantom power or an internal AA cell, and also states that you do not need a AA in the body to use phantom power (implication is that phantom and AA are in parallel -- vs a design where the phantom power goes "through" the battery).

Confusing part is that it recommends "... the switch should remain off except when the microphone is in use." Does the unit have two switches -- or just the one you ask about (below)?

It is low-impedance (as I expected).

And the slide switch on the mike, the small one hidden deep near the head of the mike, up or down? I can't find any AT documentation for what that switch does.
Really?
Page 2 under Specifications table is an entry for "Switch" (it controls the low-frequency roll-off vs flat response).



What type of cable are you using for the "Skype" connection? The only thing I have left is that you have a broken XLR connection on the input that isn't working -- but to test that will require an independent XLR microphone and cable.

Re: channel 2 ( in multi mode) not picking up audio from powered mike

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:59 am
by bostonpaper
After much swap-and-test effort, I determined the obvious. The phantom power was not enabled on both channels 1 and 2. Now is. Thank you and sorry for my own confusion. By analogy, I know Lightroom and Photoshop cold but Audition not so. Sound and sound engineering are a work in progress for me...but a relatively quick study! Thank you.