H6 Line Out Mini Jack Developed Loud Short Sound

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Coupe633
new to this board
new to this board

H6 Line Out Mini Jack Developed Loud Short Sound

Post by Coupe633 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:36 pm

I have been using my H6 to record audio to my camera for over 4 years flawlessly, but now it has developed noise from the Line Out Mini Jack that sounds like a bad connection. I have the H6 plugged into a power stripe along with various other electronics including a Sony Video Camera. I have usually 4 lav mics connected to the H6 via XLR cables (all phantom power) and sending the audio to my camera using a stereo mini jack coming out of the H6 Line Out, splitting into two XLR's which go into the camera. I have changed no settings on the camera or the H6 but lately there is a very loud static or what sounds like a bad cable. I have replaced and tried multiple cables and still have the noise. If I jiggle the end of the cable where it enters the H6 (Line Out) there is a sweet spot that I have to work at to achieve where there is no static. It is as if inside the H6 where the mini enters there is a short or loose wire that if I can get the mini jack just right it works fine but I don't dare touch it anymore, otherwise the static comes back very loud and I only hear the static and no mic audio. I am monitoring the sound via my camera so I hear this coming into the camera but I don't see any affect on the H6 levels. The recorded audio on the H6 is not affected by this short so I get good audio on the H6 but the audio recorded to the camera gets the static. I have heard this same static or short sound when I have had a bad XLR Mic cable or bad mic with bad XLR jacks, which was caused by two wires touching in the XLR end. I suspect that where the mini Jack goes into the H6 something is bent or touching where it is not supposed to touch causing a short. At this point I