Zoom r24 time signature

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:27 am

On a Zoom r24, how do I change the time signature to 3/4 for a project? I want the metronome and drum pattern to match up and have the display shown 3/4 instead of 4/4.

Thanks.
0 x

Wulfraed
Yoda
Yoda
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Kentwood, MI

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Wulfraed » Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:05 am

Based on page 36 of the manual... You don't.

Other than the special pre-count pattern -- which is in 4/4 -- the R24 metronome is just even ticks.

Page 58 indicates that you can change the time signature for inputs to the Track Sequencer (which implies that each assigned pad would then be based upon that signature); Page 68 indicates you can specify a time signature when creating a rhythm pattern.

In contrast, the R16 manual page 34 shows that ITS metronome does allow for specifying #/4 time signature.
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to learn to play an instrument

rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:03 am

Thank you Wulfraed.

The metronome output on the R24 does send out an accent on beat 1 and there is no way to adjust that.

When I import a drum loop with a different time signature into a track (such as 6/8 or 3/4), the R24 metronome and measure counter continue to play/display at 4/4. I am trying to find out if this is really the case or if there is an option I am not aware of.
0 x

Ooyou
senior member
senior member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:08 am

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Ooyou » Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:23 pm

Hi - go to page 58 in the R24 manual and follow the first three steps for changing the time signature, then press stop and press exit to get back to the top screen. This worked when I first created a new project and when I changed the TS in a project that already had a waltz loop and waltz rhythm pattern in it. Goodluck.
0 x

rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:39 pm

Hi,

Your suggestion worked perfectly! By the way, we do not need to load a loop beforehand. All we do is edit a track sequence by selecting Track then Sequence. Then push the Record button to edit and change the time signature. Press Stop and exit out. Set the metronome at the desired tempo and you are there. Thanks again.
0 x

Ooyou
senior member
senior member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:08 am

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Ooyou » Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:20 pm

Hi - I'm glad it worked!
0 x

forgetfuljones
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby forgetfuljones » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:56 pm

I followed everything in this thread until you got to where you went to the metronome and changed the tempo. It doesn't look like there is a tempo setting in the metronome. You would think that settings like time signature and tempo would be pretty essential to a metronome, yet neither exists in this one. Strange.
0 x

Wulfraed
Yoda
Yoda
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Kentwood, MI

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Wulfraed » Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:55 am

forgetfuljones wrote:I followed everything in this thread until you got to where you went to the metronome and changed the tempo. It doesn't look like there is a tempo setting in the metronome. You would think that settings like time signature and tempo would be pretty essential to a metronome, yet neither exists in this one. Strange.


Tempo setting -- page 21 of the manual... It too appears to be a constant value for a song -- no changing tempo midway through a sequence.

Also check the notes on page 49, the entirety of pages 60-62.


In gaining audio interface capabilities, Zoom dropped a lot of the stand-alone music editing capabilities (download the manual for the HD16 and compare... Off the top of my head: HD16 allowed for inter-/intra-track editing [cut/paste/copy parts of tracks to other locations in the track or to other tracks], "scenes" [a collection of settings that can be automatically applied at specified time-points -- not quite as good as having motorized faders, but could be useful], actual (if simple) drum machine rather than using tracks for sampled sounds. In contrast, I suspect the thinking for the R-series is that complex arrangements -- like what you are trying -- would be layed out on the computer in some DAW software, and the R-unit would be used in audio interface mode. Your metronome would come from the computer through the R-unit, and your recordings would be straight in to the computer.)
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to learn to play an instrument


Return to “Zoom HD and R Series: HD8cd, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R8, R16 & R24”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest