Zoom r24 time signature

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:27 am

On a Zoom r24, how do I change the time signature to 3/4 for a project? I want the metronome and drum pattern to match up and have the display shown 3/4 instead of 4/4.

Thanks.
0 x

Wulfraed
Yoda
Yoda
Posts: 2453
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Kentwood, MI

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Wulfraed » Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:05 am

Based on page 36 of the manual... You don't.

Other than the special pre-count pattern -- which is in 4/4 -- the R24 metronome is just even ticks.

Page 58 indicates that you can change the time signature for inputs to the Track Sequencer (which implies that each assigned pad would then be based upon that signature); Page 68 indicates you can specify a time signature when creating a rhythm pattern.

In contrast, the R16 manual page 34 shows that ITS metronome does allow for specifying #/4 time signature.
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to learn to play an instrument

rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 9:03 am

Thank you Wulfraed.

The metronome output on the R24 does send out an accent on beat 1 and there is no way to adjust that.

When I import a drum loop with a different time signature into a track (such as 6/8 or 3/4), the R24 metronome and measure counter continue to play/display at 4/4. I am trying to find out if this is really the case or if there is an option I am not aware of.
0 x

Ooyou
senior member
senior member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:08 am

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Ooyou » Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:23 pm

Hi - go to page 58 in the R24 manual and follow the first three steps for changing the time signature, then press stop and press exit to get back to the top screen. This worked when I first created a new project and when I changed the TS in a project that already had a waltz loop and waltz rhythm pattern in it. Goodluck.
0 x

rimshot
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby rimshot » Fri Sep 24, 2010 8:39 pm

Hi,

Your suggestion worked perfectly! By the way, we do not need to load a loop beforehand. All we do is edit a track sequence by selecting Track then Sequence. Then push the Record button to edit and change the time signature. Press Stop and exit out. Set the metronome at the desired tempo and you are there. Thanks again.
0 x

Ooyou
senior member
senior member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:08 am

Re: Zoom r24 time signature

Postby Ooyou » Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:20 pm

Hi - I'm glad it worked!
0 x


Return to “Zoom HD and R Series: HD8cd, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R8, R16 & R24”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest