Zoom Gear & Home Recording Forum

Zoom PS-02, PS-04, MRS, H4, HD16cd, R16 and home recording information, discussion, and support

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Zoom R24 and Reaper
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:50 pm 
member in good standing
member in good standing

Hi All,

Firstly, thanks for this great forum, this is my first post since getting the R24 ...

I've been battling with Reaper and my new Zoom R24 Interface for over a week, now, and cannot get the two working together, either recording or playing back (so I'm new to Reaper and the R24 - not a good combination, I know).

The problem is that, using the R24 in interface mode with Reaper, even after going through all sample settings, from 64 to 2048, I cannot get glitch free recording or playback of even one or two tracks. When I increase the sample rate and eventually think I'm rid of the dreaded pops and crackles, I then get the playback or recording hanging/freezing and causing a loud buzzing noise while it's frozen. The only way I can then get the screen and transport to unfreeze is to move the mouse (wireless mouse and keyboard) and that works only sometimes.

I disconnected all USB/firewire plugs before installing the R24 driver (as advised) and have kept it that way, in case any USB connections are interfering, I've uninstalled and reinstalled the R24 driver, in case that's the problem ... and I've also tested Reaper with my old Yamaha SW1000XG soundcard, to see if the problem's with Reaper ... Oh, and I tested the whole setup on a completely different laptop ... with the same problem.

I've been on the Reaper forum, to see if there are any other sufferers, and there are ... but there seems to be no answer to the problem.

Any help would be appreciated before I lose even more of my hair!!!

Regards,

Colin

Post subject: Re: Zoom R24 and Reaper
PostPosted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:21 pm 
Yoda
Yoda

jay19458 wrote: