Setting up Zoom R16 for use as an audio I/F with Cubase

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
mblau
new to this board
new to this board

Setting up Zoom R16 for use as an audio I/F with Cubase

Post by mblau » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:34 am

I've been using my Zoom R16 as a stand-alone recorder for a few months now, but could not get it to work reliably as an audio I/F. Web searches turned up lots of people having similar problems but no good answers. I finally got it working this week, so I'll post this and hope someone else finds it helpful. The steps might be similar with the R8 or R24.

Setting up Zoom R16 for use as an audio I/F with Cubase:
First, download and install the latest driver from www.zoom.co.jp/downloads/ The version 1.3.0 driver for R16 didn’t work reliably for me. Version 1.4.0 is much better.
Boot the PC without the USB cable connected to the R16
Don’t power on the R16 using the power switch – it will get power from the USB cable
Plug in USB cable from R16 to a USB 2.0 port on your PC. USB 3.0 is supposed to be backward compatible, but it doesn’t seem to work in this case. Check your computer’s manual to figure out which port(s) are USB 2.0.
As soon as you plug in the cable, the R16 will power up and give the prompt “AUDIO INTERFACE”
Hit enter three times on the R16 and look for flashing “audio interface” indicator
Wait for the flashing to stop. Sometimes this happens right away and sometimes it takes a minute or two. I haven’t figured out why. Sometimes I open Control Panel, Hardware and Sound, Zoom R16_R24 control and this seems to help, but this could be a coincidence.
Don’t bother starting Cubase until “audio interface” has stopped flashing! If it never stops flashing I just unplug the cable, reboot the PC and try again. I don’t know what else to try.