How can I get a decent blues sound

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Interventizio
new to this board
new to this board

How can I get a decent blues sound

Post by Interventizio » Thu Jan 30, 2014 12:34 pm

Hi
I'm quite new to this device (the R16), and I've been playing around with the various effects. But for the life of me I can't manage to get a decent blues sound, with the right amount of gain and which doesn't sound like a transistor radio from the 20's or a somewhat saturated mess. Maybe it has to do with the speaker (they are ordinary pc speakers). Any idea about where I can find some sound sound tips? At the moment, I don't know if patches (is that what they're called? I mean: ampli simulator + effects) can be exported. If so, are there any on the internet I can download and use? :shock:
Thanks.
0 x

Interventizio
new to this board
new to this board

Re: How can I get a decent blues sound

Post by Interventizio » Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:28 am

Anybody?
0 x

selbalicious
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master

Post by selbalicious » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:29 pm

I hooked a strat copy directly into Input 1 and then used the Insert Effect UK Blues and I thought it sounded great. BUT, I am not a true-blue guitar player...so what do I know?

I think most guitarists usually modify their signal with a stompbox of some sort (I have the Line6 M5 and the Zoom G5 and they're both fantastic).
In other words, if you're expecting that the internal effects of the Zoom R16 to be the most rapturous guitar effects in the galaxy, I'm gonna suggest you might be disappointed. They didn't necessarily position this piece of hardware as the end-all/be-all guitar effects device. That said, they tried to provide some decent "just good enough" effects for messing around with.

If I were in your shoes I'd look at dedicated stompboxes. I think the Line6 M5 is down around $100 US and that's a HUGE bargain in my opinion.
0 x