Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
flamesong
member in good standing
member in good standing
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:30 pm

Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by flamesong » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:01 pm

One way or another, I have managed to get my R24 with previous versions of OS X and Logic, if only after a lot of frustration. After a great deal of reluctance, I finally updated my Mac Mini 2011 to El Capitan and updated Logic to Logic Pro X, perhaps naively expecting Apple's 'it just works' to make it so.

The R24 does work as an audio interface but it does not work as a control surface. I went through the controls surface settings and added Mackie Control > Logic Control and it appeared in the window albeit with an exclamation mark in the top right hand corner. As it was not functional, I tried to delete it and install again but neither back-spacing, cmd-Back-spacing nor selecting delete from the contextual menu would remove it - I had to delete the control surface preferences to start again but only found myself in the same place.

I started to get extremely annoyed and just opened Logic 9 to start using it instead but found the same problem. I read here about re-installing the R24 as a MIDI device but that only posed more questions when I discovered that some of the device settings, such as port number, were greyed out. The last time I had used Logic 9 was whilst running Yosemite and everything was fine so I suspect that this is an El Capitan 'feature'.

Has anybody got a Mac running El Capitan and Logic Pro X 10.3 or 9 working with an R24, R16 or R8?
0 x

flamesong
member in good standing
member in good standing
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by flamesong » Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:44 am

Nobody chipped in so I figure nobody else has had this problem or could offer any assistance but no worries, I eventually worked out how to fix it.
0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force
Posts: 3165
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Lowell, MI

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by Wulfraed » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:38 pm

Hmmm....

... and you will keep your solution secret so anyone else with the same problem has to suffer the way you did? :shock:
1 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to (re)learn to play an instrument

Lanikai S-C, SMC-E; GoldTone Banjo-Uke; Flatiron 1C, A5; Big Muddy M1-W; Ovation MM68AX, CSE-44; Orpheus Valley Fiesta FS; Taylor NS-72ce, T5-S1; Musima (4st, 20 fret, tenor-tuned) banjo; bongos, dumbeks, bodhrans, hand drum, tambourine; recorder: soprano, alto, tenor; Cedar Flute (5 sizes); Pennywhistle (3 keys); Casio keyboards

Eaglewatch54
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:23 pm

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by Eaglewatch54 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 8:04 pm

Did anyone find a a way to fix this issue? I recently upgraded to Sierra and I can't use my R24 as a control surface anymore. I upgraded the drivers. I see Flamesong figured it out, but there's nothing written of a solution.
0 x

dobrojoe
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:08 am

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by dobrojoe » Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:45 am

I can't get it to work either, in fact,my iMac hung and I had to restart. I'm on 10.13.4.
0 x

bard
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:25 am

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by bard » Wed May 30, 2018 5:51 am

I had this same problem. On 10.13.4, I could use my R24 as an audio interface, but it would not be recognized as a midi device by my mac. I solved this issue by removing "SoundGridMIDI.plugin" from /Library/Audio/Midi Drivers/. Rebooted and it started to work again as it should.
"SoundGridMIDI.plugin" was installed by the latest Waves SoundGrid Studio.

I put the file back again to see if it would cause the problem again and sure enough with "SoundGridMIDI.plugin" in /Library/Audio/Midi Drivers/ the problem immediately returned. I don't know why this midi driver is causing this conflict, but for now I am happy to have my R24 back as a control surface in Logic Pro X 10.4.1.

Also, I have read elsewhere that a good place to start when looking for why the R24 stops working as a Midi Device is to remove all files from within the /Library/Audio/Midi Drivers/ directory and reinstall only the latest drivers from Zoom.

Hope that helps for anyone still with this problem.
2 x

User avatar
Jim_Fogle
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master
Posts: 952
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to use R24 as control surface with Logic Pro X 10.3 on Mac running El Capitan OS X 10.11.6

Post by Jim_Fogle » Wed May 30, 2018 4:47 pm

bard,

Thank you for taking time to document your findings. In a user forum like this one, helping fellow users is what this is all about. Once again, thanks!
0 x
http://fogle622.wix.com/fogle622-audio-home
https://soundcloud.com/you/tracks
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... tent=music
Zoom MRS-8
Gibson acoustic 12-string, Peavey Predator, Line6 Variax, Yamaha keyboard and digital drums
2018 Band-in-a-Box, ChordPulse http://www.chordpulse.com/
Cakewalk by BandLab, Sonar Home Studio, Cakewalk Music Creator 6, Audacity
Win 7 laptop i3, 8 GB DRAM, 500GB SSD

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tls11823 and 1 guest