Recording a click track

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
Knucklehead
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:34 pm

Recording a click track

Post by Knucklehead » Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:44 pm

I can't find out how to do this. I want to record the metronome onto a track. I have an email band and everyone needs the click sent to them.
Please let me know how to do this.
Thanks
Ron
0 x

Knucklehead
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by Knucklehead » Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:44 pm

BTW I have an R24
0 x

User avatar
sciurius
been here a while
been here a while
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by sciurius » Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:50 pm

Connect the headphone or line out to one of the inputs and record it?
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

greenA2
dues paid
dues paid
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:21 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by greenA2 » Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:34 pm

sciurius wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:50 pm
Connect the headphone or line out to one of the inputs and record it?
Isn't that a recipe for feedback?
0 x
Zoom A2, H5, YouRock Guitar

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force
Posts: 3142
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Lowell, MI

Re: Recording a click track

Post by Wulfraed » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:07 am

greenA2 wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:34 pm
sciurius wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:50 pm
Connect the headphone or line out to one of the inputs and record it?
Isn't that a recipe for feedback?
Set the record track to -INF so it doesn't appear in the output? <hypothesis -- the alternative is to obtain an external metronome and record IT>
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to (re)learn to play an instrument

Lanikai S-C, SMC-E; GoldTone Banjo-Uke; Flatiron 1C, A5; Big Muddy M1-W; Ovation MM68AX, CSE-44; Orpheus Valley Fiesta FS; Taylor NS-72ce, T5-S1; Musima (4st, 20 fret, tenor-tuned) banjo; bongos, dumbeks, bodhrans, hand drum, tambourine; recorder: soprano, alto, tenor; Cedar Flute (5 sizes); Pennywhistle (3 keys); Casio keyboards

User avatar
sciurius
been here a while
been here a while
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by sciurius » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:08 am

greenA2 wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 5:34 pm
sciurius wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:50 pm
Connect the headphone or line out to one of the inputs and record it?
Isn't that a recipe for feedback?
Yes :D

Fortunately, there are many alternatives.

First, since everyone has digital metronomes nowadays, telling everyone to use "120 bpm" would be already sufficient. Speed differences should be extinct.

Second, and often more versatile, is to use an external tool like iRealPro to set up a schema of the song to be made, then generate a sound file (or MIDI) including count-in and send it to all participants.

If you are familiar with LilyPond, a simple 'song' to generate a 500 bar MIDI track @ 120 bpm:

Code: Select all

\version "2.19"
\score {
  \new DrumVoice {
    \tempo 4=120
    \repeat unfold 500
    \drummode { hiwoodblock 4 lowoodblock lowoodblock lowoodblock }
  }
  \midi{}
}
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

Knucklehead
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by Knucklehead » Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:08 am

I don't have any other equipment like a metronome, etc. I'm kinda surprised that we can't simply rout it to a track.
I've just put a headphone cup over track 8 internal mic and recorded the click that way. It's right in time
with the internal click.
I'll try putting a cord from the headphone out into a track. That sounds easier if I don't get feedback.
Thanks
Ron
0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force
Posts: 3142
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Lowell, MI

Re: Recording a click track

Post by Wulfraed » Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:14 pm

sciurius wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:08 am
First, since everyone has digital metronomes nowadays, telling everyone to use "120 bpm" would be already sufficient. Speed differences should be extinct.
If you've got an Android tablet/phone spend a few hours reviewing options from the Google Play Store (search "metronome").

I'm pretty certain the equivalent Apple store will be full of options too.


Heck -- download Audacity and use Generate/Rhythm Track for the length of the song. One could even, by generating with different parameters and cut&paste, create a lead-in count (say, 60BPM, 2 beats per measure, two measures, followed by 120BPM, 4 beats...)
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to (re)learn to play an instrument

Lanikai S-C, SMC-E; GoldTone Banjo-Uke; Flatiron 1C, A5; Big Muddy M1-W; Ovation MM68AX, CSE-44; Orpheus Valley Fiesta FS; Taylor NS-72ce, T5-S1; Musima (4st, 20 fret, tenor-tuned) banjo; bongos, dumbeks, bodhrans, hand drum, tambourine; recorder: soprano, alto, tenor; Cedar Flute (5 sizes); Pennywhistle (3 keys); Casio keyboards

User avatar
sciurius
been here a while
been here a while
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by sciurius » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:40 am

No matter the alternatives, I want to add that OP definitely has a point. It should be straighforward to record the metronome, even though it is not really necessary. Moreover, the metronome is quite limited, you cannot change time and tempo, and it is even hard (if at all possible) to produce ternary rhythms.

So my personal preferrence is to create a song schema using iRealPro or LilyPond.
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

greenA2
dues paid
dues paid
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:21 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by greenA2 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:06 pm

Knucklehead wrote:
Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:44 pm
BTW I have an R24
The R24 has a full featured drum machine/sampler sequencer, so you could presumably create your click track using sounds from that, rather than trying to record the R24's metronome. It should be much more straight forward, if it doesn't have wood block sounds you could sample some!
0 x
Zoom A2, H5, YouRock Guitar

User avatar
sciurius
been here a while
been here a while
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Recording a click track

Post by sciurius » Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:39 pm

Okay, here's how to record the click track on the R24.
  1. Configure the metronome to sound on record only (UG p. 36).
  2. Set the beats and tempo as usual.
  3. Connect the phones output to one of the inputs and enable this input for recording. (I use a stereo to mono cable for this.)
  4. Set the metronome switch to phones only (UG p. 36).
  5. Turn the master/click balance to the far right (click only, UG p. 36).
  6. Start recording and adjust the gain and fader of the input. The level indicator should show the metronome.
  7. Adjust the master slider. The master level indicator should show the metronome.
  8. Stop recording, rewind, and record as many clicks as you want.
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest