Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Discuss the Zoom HD and R series. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
dim459
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:34 am

Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by dim459 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 4:31 am

I connect Zoom R16 to my Macbook (Mojave) with installed drivers, but Logic or another DAW does not receive a signal from Zoom R16.
What is the problem?

Mini-video
https://youtu.be/Nf_hvOltqfw
0 x

User avatar
sciurius
senior member
senior member
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by sciurius » Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:01 am

From the video I get the impression that you switched the R16 on. To use it as an audio interface, it must be switched off and then connected to USB.
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

dim459
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:34 am

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by dim459 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 11:38 am

0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force
Posts: 3217
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Lowell, MI

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by Wulfraed » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:25 pm

It shouldn't require powering from USB.

However, have you tried connecting the unit and selecting audio interface mode BEFORE starting the software on the computer. It may be (wild guess) that the driver being seen by the software isn't connected to the current USB port enumeration.
0 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to (re)learn to play an instrument

Lanikai S-C, SMC-E; GoldTone Banjo-Uke; Flatiron 1C, A5; Big Muddy M1-W; Ovation MM68AX, CSE-44; Orpheus Valley Fiesta FS; Taylor NS-72ce, T5-S1; Musima (4st, 20 fret, tenor-tuned) banjo; bongos, dumbeks, bodhrans, hand drum, tambourine; recorder: soprano, alto, tenor; Cedar Flute (5 sizes); Pennywhistle (3 keys); Casio keyboards

dim459
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:34 am

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by dim459 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:42 pm

I run Logic after Zoom r16 connect by USB and DC Power, but Logic still can't get signal from r16 :(
0 x

User avatar
sciurius
senior member
senior member
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by sciurius » Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:25 pm

Confusing answers. USB and DC Power?
In the 2nd video, you connect via USB and configure the R16 as audio interface. Good. But then you try the still running DAW on the Mac. Does it help restarting the DAW after connecting the R16?
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

User avatar
sciurius
senior member
senior member
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by sciurius » Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:29 pm

With the R24 came a document "R24 Audio Interface Manual", that describes how to connect the R24 to several DAWs (including Logic).
I assume there is a similar document for the R16. Do you have it? Did you follow the intructions?
0 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

dim459
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:34 am

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by dim459 » Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:42 pm

sciurius wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:25 pm
Confusing answers. USB and DC Power?
In the 2nd video, you connect via USB and configure the R16 as audio interface. Good. But then you try the still running DAW on the Mac. Does it help restarting the DAW after connecting the R16?
I tried with DC Power and without it. Result is the same. I tried launch Logic after connect Zoom R16. Doesn't help :(
sciurius wrote:
Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:29 pm
With the R24 came a document "R24 Audio Interface Manual", that describes how to connect the R24 to several DAWs (including Logic).
I assume there is a similar document for the R16. Do you have it? Did you follow the intructions?
I read this. There are no instructions with Logic setup as audio Interface, only for audio controller.
0 x

User avatar
sciurius
senior member
senior member
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by sciurius » Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:59 pm

Unfortunately I do not have an R16, a Mac and Logic so I cannot provide more specific help.

With R24/Linux/Ardour I switch off the R24, connect USB, configure it as Audio I/F, start Ardour and tell it to use the R24 for input and output and surface.
1 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

mikethebass
dues paid
dues paid
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:47 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by mikethebass » Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:40 pm

Using my R16 with Reaper I connect to the PC using the USB, No mains power. Then start Reaper, no problem.

Some years ago when I worked in a studio using Logic, a Mac and Prism Orpheus interfaces it was necessary to have the interfaces powered up before starting Logic.

As you aren't getting a signal with 2 different DAWs this suggests it's something to do with the Mac audio setup. Sorry I can't help you there.
1 x

dim459
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:34 am

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by dim459 » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:19 am

Thanks to all, the problem was that I turned off the microphone access to Logic in the privacy settings :oops:
Screenshot 2019-04-10 at 12.45.06 PM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
0 x

User avatar
sciurius
senior member
senior member
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:37 pm

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by sciurius » Thu Apr 11, 2019 1:18 am

Glad you got it sorted out!

(And don't worry, we all make mistakes like this...)
1 x
Zoom H2n, Zoom R24, Ardour, Audacity on Linux (Fedora)

User avatar
Jim_Fogle
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Zoom R16 doesn't work as Audio Interface (Mac)

Post by Jim_Fogle » Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:45 pm

Thanks for reporting how you fixed the issue. I'll bet you are not the only person to make this error. By reporting how you fixed the problem you'll help everyone using a R16 with Logic Pro.
0 x
http://fogle622.wix.com/fogle622-audio-home
https://soundcloud.com/you/tracks
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... tent=music
Zoom MRS-8
Gibson acoustic 12-string, Peavey Predator, Line6 Variax, Yamaha keyboard and digital drums
2018 Band-in-a-Box, ChordPulse http://www.chordpulse.com/
Cakewalk by BandLab, Sonar Home Studio, Cakewalk Music Creator 6, Audacity
Win 7 laptop i3, 8 GB DRAM, 500GB SSD

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests