Can I use the Zoom ZFX s2t with garageband?

Questions and answers related to any Zoom Gear that doesn't have its own sub-forum yet. This includes any new gear that's been announced, and any old gear you've got. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
nicholasgross
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Can I use the Zoom ZFX s2t with garageband?

Post by nicholasgross » Fri May 29, 2009 9:35 am

G'day guys,

I'm running Mac OSX 10.5.7 and I'm wondering if anyone would know how to get garageband to recognise the Zoom ZFX interface. I've done all the obvious things such as selecting it in the system preferences also in the Garageband preferences, and playing with the input channel but nothing registers input-wise. Doesn't seem to be any new drivers on Zoom's website,
can anyone help?

I got cubase bundled with the interface but I think it's just for XP/vista

cheers
0 x

Armin
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master
Posts: 1481
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 4:12 pm
Location: Salzgitter - Germany

Re: Can I use the Zoom ZFX s2t with garageband?

Post by Armin » Sun May 31, 2009 12:31 pm

The first version of the ZFX interface / software was Windows only.

The current version works fine for Windows and MacOSX.

The included Cubase LE4 works fine for both Windows and MAC.

In case you have an older version of ZFX download the latest ZFX drivers and software from the Zoom homepage:
http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/download/ ... plugin.php
0 x
Upgrade your Zoom R8 / R24 / HD16 / HD8 / MRS / PS04 / PS02 : http://www.soundside.de

Do you own a Kemper Profiling Amp? Check this out: http://www.soundside.de/shop/Profiles.htm

nicholasgross
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 5:36 pm

Re: Can I use the Zoom ZFX s2t with garageband?

Post by nicholasgross » Sun May 31, 2009 9:39 pm

Thanks Armin,

The Zoom ZFX plug-in was downloaded last week so I don't think it would be a driver issue. It works on MacOSX but it doesn't seem to work on garageband. Garageband recognises what's plugged in, I can choose it as an input on both my Mac sys. preferences and via garageband but I still can't get any input signal. All the knobs are turned up, it is in the right HiZ port but still nothing. Any ideas?
cheers

Nick
0 x

Armin
Jedi Zoom Master
Jedi Zoom Master
Posts: 1481
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 4:12 pm
Location: Salzgitter - Germany

Re: Can I use the Zoom ZFX s2t with garageband?

Post by Armin » Mon Jun 01, 2009 5:53 am

Are you talking about the ZFX hardware as an interface ?
This should work fine for all Mac apps - incl. Garageband.
You must select the right interface in system settings and in garageband settings.

If you talk about ZFX as plugin this will only work when using the standalone host or any vst host e.g. Cubase.
Garageband does not understand vst instruments.
0 x
Upgrade your Zoom R8 / R24 / HD16 / HD8 / MRS / PS04 / PS02 : http://www.soundside.de

Do you own a Kemper Profiling Amp? Check this out: http://www.soundside.de/shop/Profiles.htm

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest