Zoom Gear & Home Recording Forum

Zoom PS-02, PS-04, MRS, H4, HD16cd, R16 and home recording information, discussion, and support

It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:52 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:20 pm 
new to this board
new to this board

Hi I'm new to Zoom Q3HD. Is there a guide which spells out which settings to use in which environments?. For example which sound configuration is best for recording bands, which setting for a interview / conversation, and which is best for recording a presentation.
Thankyou in advance.

Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:39 pm 
been here a while
been here a while

I don't know whether there is a guide or not but I would suggest that trial and experience will be your best guide. As in doing any sort of audio/video setup the environment is likely to be somewhat unique so doing a sound-check / video-check is something I think is pretty much always the order of the day. After a little practice, you'll develop a sense for what are most likely to be your best settings but you will still do a sound check on set-up to make sure everything is working and optimal and to do any tweaking necessary for the particular gig demands.

Regards,
Mike H

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:54 pm 
new to this board
new to this board

Thanks Mike - the user guide tells me the settings exist, not what they are for. But I think your right experimenting will be the best teacher

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:19 am 
Rising Star
Rising Star

JOB wrote:
Thanks Mike - the user guide tells me the settings exist, not what they are for. But I think your right experimenting will be the best teacher

Try page 8 of the manual:

Quote:
By changing the recording sensitivity, you can record both quiet
sounds and loud band performances at the optimal level.

Adjusting the recording level
1. Set the MIC GAIN switch according to the
recording conditions.
L Low sensitivity