Zoom Gear & Home Recording Forum

Zoom PS-02, PS-04, MRS, H4, HD16cd, R16 and home recording information, discussion, and support

 

Loading
It is currently Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:52 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:20 pm 
Offline
new to this board
new to this board

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:40 pm
Posts: 7
Hi I'm new to Zoom Q3HD. Is there a guide which spells out which settings to use in which environments?. For example which sound configuration is best for recording bands, which setting for a interview / conversation, and which is best for recording a presentation.
Thankyou in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:39 pm 
Offline
been here a while
been here a while

Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:07 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Miyazaki City, Japan
I don't know whether there is a guide or not but I would suggest that trial and experience will be your best guide. As in doing any sort of audio/video setup the environment is likely to be somewhat unique so doing a sound-check / video-check is something I think is pretty much always the order of the day. After a little practice, you'll develop a sense for what are most likely to be your best settings but you will still do a sound check on set-up to make sure everything is working and optimal and to do any tweaking necessary for the particular gig demands.

Regards,
Mike H


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:54 pm 
Offline
new to this board
new to this board

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:40 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks Mike - the user guide tells me the settings exist, not what they are for. But I think your right experimenting will be the best teacher


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:19 am 
Offline
Rising Star
Rising Star

Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:10 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, USA
JOB wrote:
Thanks Mike - the user guide tells me the settings exist, not what they are for. But I think your right experimenting will be the best teacher


Try page 8 of the manual:

Quote:
By changing the recording sensitivity, you can record both quiet
sounds and loud band performances at the optimal level.

Adjusting the recording level
1. Set the MIC GAIN switch according to the
recording conditions.
L Low sensitivity
Band performances and concerts
H High sensitivity
Field recordings
AUTO Automatic sensitivity adjustment
Use in various situations to maintain an even
recording level without breaks in sound


Fran

_________________
E ho`okani pila kakou ma Kaleponi
http://www.kaleponi.com
http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/franguidry
http://www.youtube.com/franguidry
Homebrewed Music Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:46 pm 
Offline
new to this board
new to this board

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:40 pm
Posts: 7
excellent thank you Fran


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Q3HD settings
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:02 am 
Offline
member in good standing
member in good standing

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
Along these lines, I was talking to tech support ant explaining to the person on the phone that "low" records my band way too low and high records my band with clipping, at least this was true on the Zoom H2. I would also get clipping on medium. Now obviously the Q3HD, which I just received, does NOT even have a medium setting, so the tech advised me that on both the Zoom H2 AND the Q3HD, I can set the input gain on "high" and then monitor clipping on the unit and fine-tune the input gain to prevent clipping by adjusting the sensitivity. He said on the H2, I could use "left and right" (which look like FF and rewind - left and right on the "cross") and that up and down would do this on the Q3HD. However, in messing around with this, while in front of my TV as a test, I could NOT change the meters. There appeared to be a slider that worked, BUT it went up and down (and left and right if I went left and right on the round pad) but the record meters did not change. This is somewhat puzzling. I want to record a very important concert tomorrow, and I need to make sure I get this right. ;)

Edit: Okay I tried it on my H2 and it worked. I set the unit to "high" but using left and right I was able to lower and raise the record level from 100 to 0 and I could see a pronounced effect on the moving record meters. Not sure how to do this (fine tune the input volume) on the Q3HD within the two settings (high and low)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Buy VPN
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group