Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Questions and answers related to any Zoom Gear that doesn't have its own sub-forum yet. This includes any new gear that's been announced, and any old gear you've got. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
Merlin5
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:08 pm

Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Post by Merlin5 » Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:31 am

Hello everyone, I'm new here. :) Hope this is the right sub forum for my question.

I've owned my Q3 HD for a number of years. Awesome bit of kit that I use regularly.

Recently I've been recording electric drums playing along to mp3 songs. I do this by feeding the mp3 (on a USB stick slotted into the electric drum brain) and the drum sounds directly into the line-in of the Q3 HD. No need to use the Q3 HD mics. Sound of both drums and mp3 comes out perfect, like studio quality. I then export from the Q3 HD to my phone using the short Q3 HD usb connector. I have a USB to mini firewire adapter for this.

But now I want to record video and audio of acoustic drums playing along to an mp3 song. This is more difficult and means making use of external mics. I currently don't have a computer so I can't use software to sync video and sound. So I need my recording to be on one file only recorded by the Q3 HD, with AV already synced up.

I wanted to record the drums using the Q3 HD built in mics and have the mp3 feeding into the line-in of the Q3, but of course the line-in disables the mics. Pity as this would have been ideal and I wouldn't have needed to sync anything. So I have an alternative idea.

I saw a youtube video of an acoustic guitar player who recorded himself using the mics on an H2 and video from the Q3. He used the headphone out of the H2 into the line-in of his Q3 HD and recorded successfully. I think he did this so that he didn't need to put his Q3 so close to his guitar to get a good sound and could have the video from further away.

So I was thinking about buying an H2 to use its mics while the Q3 HD shoots the video. I'd also buy a splitter cable. I'd feed a jack from the H2 headphone out and a jack from the mp3 source both into the splitter cable, with the other end of the cable (minijack) into the line-in of the Q3 HD. Would this work? Would the line-in be able to take both sources? I personally can't see why it shouldn't work as long as the mic level and mp3 level are sensible and not too high.


EDIT: Actually I've just noticed a possible better purchase, the Zoom Q8. This might be my ideal solution of all in one video, mics and mp3 because of the two XLR sockets. Can I run my mp3 into one of the XLRs which I believe also acts like a line-in, and record with the X/Y capsule mics? I'm assuming the mics won't be disabled by using the XLR. So I presume the mp3 will get recorded along with the drums and video?
0 x

greenA2
dues paid
dues paid
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:21 pm

Re: Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Post by greenA2 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:23 pm

Yes, the Q8 is advertised as four channel audio, so it will record all audio inputs, it is like an H5 with added video. You must then be able to mix and export to stereo.

You might want to look into buying a mixer and some mics, maybe even a drum mic kit, rather than another zoom product.
0 x
Zoom A2, H5, YouRock Guitar

Merlin5
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Post by Merlin5 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:30 pm

Thanks greenA2. I've got quite a few questions if you don't mind.

Yeah I've got a mixer and drum mics. Thing is, I don't currently have a computer and can't do any mixing. So I really want something that can record drums, mp3 and video all at the same time straight onto an SD card, already synced up and ready to transfer to my phone, and the Q8 seems to be a machine that could do that.

You mention I must be able to mix and export to stereo. But I presume I can simply adjust the levels of all mics (x/y mics and a bass drum mic into XLR) and the XLR for the mp3 with Q8 gain settings before recording so I know the balance will be right?

Can I assume the mp3 song into the XLR input will get recorded in stereo? On my Q3 HD an mp3 into the line-in records in stereo, so I guess it should work the same on the Q8?

I just remembered I own a Zoom UAC-2 USB 3.0 audio interface that I've never used. It has 2 XLR inputs. But I don't think it's going to help me here if I wanted to hook it up to my Q3 HD line-in and use the Q3 x/y mics, as the mics will get disabled again. Would I be able to connect a USB cable from the UAC-2 to.the USB connector on my Q3 HD, and if so, would the Q3 USB hear and record the same as the line-in and not disable the x/y mics?

Otherwise, I'll sell the UAC-2 and put the money towards the Q8.
0 x

greenA2
dues paid
dues paid
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:21 pm

Re: Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Post by greenA2 » Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:33 pm

Ok so I am familiar with the H5, not with the Q8. The Q8 looks like H5 with video, and they advertise four track functionality, so my answer is based on my knowledge of H5, I'd advise you to read through the Q8 manual to figure out if it applies to that.

On the H5, you can pair the XLRs into a stereo pair, or use them as two mono tracks/channels . If you have a mixer and drum mics, you could just mix everything to stereo on the mixer and feed the XLR (assuming you have enough channels on the mixer for the drum mics and the mp3). Alternatively, if it works like the H5, you put the mp3 into the XLR stereo pair, and record the drums with the built in mics. This gives two stereo pair files in the same 'project'. The project has a mixer/overdub menu, where you can select to 'downmix', having first adjusted the relative volumes of the two stereo pairs (or the pan positions if you went with stereo from built in and monos from the two XLRs). If like the H5 you can bypass the built in mics with a stereo minijack, use your drum mics and the mixer and then feed into the minijack line in bypassing the zoom's mics.
0 x
Zoom A2, H5, YouRock Guitar

Merlin5
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: Q3 HD - two sources into line-in?

Post by Merlin5 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:33 pm

Very late reply! Thanks for that info greenA2.

About the Q8, a friend pointed a couple of things out to me. He said "on some inexpensive devices, where the same input can be either mic or line, it may switch globally or by the pair instead of individually. If you want one mic and one line - make sure it can do that". Do you know if I can use one XLR for mic and the other for line-in simultaneously?

He also said "A few people I know have the Zoom H6, and if you obey the file structure, you can pre-load an audio clip onto the memory card, and hear it in your headphones and overdub to it. I don't know if the Q8 has something like that."

Do you know if the Q8 can do that? If so, I presume it would free up an input that I could use for another mic instead of feeding an mp3 into it.

By the way, I experimented with my mixer. I recorded a single drum with a close mic and overhead mic and backing track together and fed a cable from the mixer into the line-in of the Q3. Came out ok, though I had to bring the output level down on the mixer because the snare was causing clipping. I probably need to mess around more with setting the level for the mic but I also wonder if the Q3 line-in is too sensitive.
0 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest