Effect Order and Routing Ideas

Questions and answers related to any Zoom Gear that doesn't have its own sub-forum yet. This includes any new gear that's been announced, and any old gear you've got. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
stubbsonic

Effect Order and Routing Ideas

Post by stubbsonic » Sun Jul 22, 2018 1:27 pm

The purpose of this thread is to start a discussion about effect order and routing. As musicians choose the order for their effects, they are ultimately deciding how effects are "stacked", and how an effect module will influence the modules before and after it. With routing, there are two main configurations: serial and parallel.

I want to start with a little description of routing. I'm still learning about this, so I did some reading and am trying to clarify my understanding through writing.

Your instrument amplifier you may have either a serial or a parallel effect send/return loop. A serial effect send/return (pre-amp out/amp in) routes all the post pre-amp signal to the send jack (pre-amp out), and expects to have all the post-effect signal connected to the return (amp in). Alternatively, the amp may have a parallel effect loop which sends a "copy" of the post-pre-amp out to the effect send, but maintains a direct dry path straight to the amp, this configuration may include an effect volume control to control how much signal is returned from the effects loop into the final amp stage. The parallel loop should be used for effects that don't require more that 50% wetness.

Internally, most digital multi-effects processors (including Zoom pedals) provide only serial routing. Your instrument signal goes through the first effect module into the next and so on, until it passes through the last module to the output jack. If an effect within that chain has a wet/dry setting, this provides a little parallel dry path around the current module and on to the next one.