xd cards

Zoom PS-02 & PS-04 Palmtop Studio information, discussion, and support
Dhad
new to this board
new to this board

xd cards

Post by Dhad » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:36 pm

I've been using my ps-04 for a couple of years and have just decided to start using an xd card instead of Smart media. I've bought a smart media/xd converter and 2 xd cards - one fujifilm and one kodak. However, both cards don't seem to work. When I put them in it says card error, and then when I press the system button and then go to the card option it says the card is protected. Is there a way of unprotecting the card, or have a I just got dud cards?
0 x

Wulfraed
Yoda
Yoda

Post by Wulfraed » Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:11 pm

What size xD card?

From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SmartMedia
There is an oversized xD-to-SmartMedia adapter that allows xD cards to use a SmartMedia port, but it does not fit entirely inside a SmartMedia slot. There is a limit on the capacity of the xD card when used in such adapters (sometimes 128 MB or 256 MB), and the device is subject to the restrictions of the SmartMedia reader as well.
0 x

Howard
Yoda
Yoda

Post by Howard » Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:38 pm

Dhad,

Welcome to the 2090. My guess is Wulfraed has hit the nail on the head with the card size error problem. 128mb max for the PS-04.

Howard
0 x

Dhad
new to this board
new to this board

xd cards

Post by Dhad » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:06 am

both cards are 128mb so i thought they would be ok
0 x

Howard
Yoda
Yoda

Post by Howard » Sat Feb 16, 2008 2:30 am

Sorry if I jumped the gun on the card size (128mb max). That's usually what the problem is when people have a problem with a new card. Second most often it was incompatible cards.

Samson's website has a list of recommended smartmedia cards for the PS-04 I don't know if the list applies to xd, but fujifilm is one that's on the not recommended list for smartmedia. Kodak is not on the list:
http://www.samsontech.com/products/prod ... rodID=1705