(H4N Pro) No stereo when effect enabled in MTR

Discuss the Zoom H6, H5, H4, H4n, H2, H2n, and H1. Please don't "post and run". Participate in the discussion. Thanks.
Post Reply
Quambo
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:24 am

(H4N Pro) No stereo when effect enabled in MTR

Post by Quambo » Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:10 pm

I am trying to add some EQ to input 1 and 2 in a stereo configuration in MTR mode. I can hear it in stereo when monitoring, with no effect on. I have fully panned each channel. If I link them, I still hear them I stereo. But when I enable the effect, the sound turns to mono. Same thing happens if I leave the channels unlinked and enable the effect.

I set the effect to be "flat mic" preamp, everything turned off, except for boosting the treble. I believe I also tried with preamp set of "off."

Is it supposed to allow me to do an EQ to both channels and keep stereo?

Not too hopeful, but is there a way to alter the EQ in Stereo or 4CH mode?

Thanks
0 x

Wulfraed
The Force
The Force
Posts: 3246
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:18 pm
Location: Lowell, MI

Re: (H4N Pro) No stereo when effect enabled in MTR

Post by Wulfraed » Wed Apr 03, 2019 10:30 pm

Based upon the manual (page 82)...

When using two inputs with any effect, the two inputs are blended before going to the effect. The effect output may be stereo (I suspect for chorus, ensemble and environment reverb effects -- those often send different variations to left/right channels)
1 x
--
Baron Wulfraed
IISS Elusive Unicorn (detached)

Superscope PSD-300; BOSS BR-600, Zoom HD16cd, Zoom R16, BOSS BR-800, Zoom H2n
Now to (re)learn to play an instrument

Lanikai S-C, SMC-E; GoldTone Banjo-Uke; Flatiron 1C, A5; Big Muddy M1-W; Ovation MM68AX, CSE-44; Orpheus Valley Fiesta FS; Taylor NS-72ce, T5-S1; Musima (4st, 20 fret, tenor-tuned) banjo; bongos, dumbeks, bodhrans, hand drum, tambourine; recorder: soprano, alto, tenor; Cedar Flute (5 sizes); Pennywhistle (3 keys); Casio keyboards

Quambo
new to this board
new to this board
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:24 am

Re: (H4N Pro) No stereo when effect enabled in MTR

Post by Quambo » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:43 am

Well thanks. I'll have to do EQ on my PC separately then.

PS. I did look through the manual several times and never saw that part.
1 x

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests